Install Theme

Hello everyone!

Welcome to the final post of the theNOB 2013-2014 season! In this video you can see our best of: headers, design, logos and anything else…the music is, well…I tought that spanish music is a perfect idea to finish the season, so today on NOB:

Manuel Fernandez Caballero - Gigantes y Cabezudos

I want to say a big THANK YOU to MELINDA BEASI, our Music Supervisor and also our Artistic Advisor for she’s contribution to improve and enrich our blog. 

Also, a big thank you to our staff:

Curtis Lindsay – Music Supervisor

Evelyn Balintfi – General Advisor

Orsolya Albert – Design Advisor

Last, but not least, thank you to our 1000+ FOLLOWERS!

Enjoy the summer, enjoy the music! Best regards, 

KRISZTIÁN KÁLLÓ - Editor in chief

Though this blog has always specialized in 20th Century music, I thought I’d take this opportunity on the final day of the season to post something a bit more personal.

One of the things I’ll be doing this summer, while the NOB is on hiatus, is directing a group of talented teenagers in a workshop production of the second act of Mozart’s The Marriage of Figaro. I can’t think of anything on earth I’d rather be doing with my time.  Figaro is the first full-length opera I ever performed in, and thus is nearly as dear to my heart as the students themselves.

We’ll be back in the fall with more music.  Please enjoy your summer!  I know I’ll be enjoying mine!  - Melinda Beasi

Today on NOB:

Before the season finale post, we show you something special! 

Federico Moreno Torroba - LUISA FERNANDA

Don’t forget: tomorrow (Friday, 20 June) > SEASON FINALE POST

Something lively for a Wednesday, here’s the first movement of Spanish composer Joaquín Rodrigo's Concierto Andaluz for 4 Guitars and Orchestra (1967).

For your Tuesday dose of vocal music, I offer up something this week from the latter half of the 20th century, which I will admit is a period I too often ignore.  Please enjoy Xavier Montsalvatge's Simfonia de Rèquiem (1985) for soprano and orchestra, performed here by the BBC Philharmonic under the direction of Juanjo Mena, with soprano Ruby Hughes.

I’m running a bit late on this Monday afternoon (or so it is in my corner of the world), but here’s a little music to break up your day: Arthur Honegger’s Concerto for Cello and Orchestra, H 72. - Melinda Beasi